Teenage angst now VS. the 90’s

 

jfyug7_n

Today Zayn Malik announced he was leaving One Direction.

Fans went into meltdown via Social Media:

sharan-meme

enhanced-27511-1427304923-1

one-direction-zayn-malik-memes_0

I understand your angst but spare a thought for us 90’s kids

when our grief unfolded on May 31st 1998

for those not familar it was the end of Spice World as we know it

Geri Halliwell announced she was leaving The Spice Girls

its still hard just typing those words

Today as you Tweet, Text, Snapchat, Facebook, Instagram, Vine and Tumblr your grief

Be grateful for the support network at this tough time.

Because in my time of need it was alot different

I didnt find out until TENS 5 o’clock news when Angela Bishop

graced the screen with the sad heart breaking news.

spice-girls-then

I couldnt even call my besties for support because my mum was on the home phone!

Why didnt I just text them?!

HAHAHAHA

 I had a better chance in those days of calling them from a car phone than a mobile phone!

So all I could do was flick through Smash Hits and sob as I sat on my bed and listened to Mama (I needed a ballad to set the mood) on my Walkman

I took solace in my VHS of Spice World and dowsing myself in Spice World Impulse everyday.

tumblr_ms2xjsucEO1r1ft0fo1_400

Sure, it wasnt the end of the Spice Girls but lets be honest it was never the same again

And then to make matters worse they all launched solo careers

I think the only one happy that Social Media wasnt around were their management team

Those mean tweets on Kimmel would’ve been harsh!

So today as you use #AlwaysInOurHeartsZaynMalik

and post a crying vine and tweet Zayn to let him know you miss him

Think about that lonely girl sitting on her bed talking to her contacted HSIE book with a collage of The Spice girls crying

ALONE.

#help

Leave a Reply

